SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION – SCHOOL DISTRICT OF COLBY MONDAY, APRIL 22, 2019 COLBY HIGH SCHOOL DISTANCE LEARNING LAB

The Special School Board Meeting on April 22, 2019, was called to order at 6:00 p.m. in the Colby High School Distance Learning Lab by Board President, William Tesmer. Members present were William Tesmer, Cheryl Ploeckelman, Jean Schmitt, Todd Schmidt, Teri Hanson, Jennifer Lopez and Eric Elmhorst. Also present were Superintendent Steven Kolden and Kristen Seifert. Student Board Representative Isabelle Feiten was absent.

The meeting notice was posted according to the requirements of the open meeting law.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President called for the Election of Officers: Mrs. Ploeckelman nominated William Tesmer for Board President. No other nominations. Mr. Tesmer elected as President.

Mr. Elmhorst nominated Cheryl Ploeckelman for Board Vice President. No other nominations. Mrs. Ploeckelman elected as Vice President.

Mrs. Lopez nominated Todd Schmidt for Board Clerk. No other nominations. Mr. Schmidt elected as Board Clerk.

Mr. Schmidt nominated Jennifer Lopez for Board Treasurer. No other nominations. Mrs. Lopez elected as Board Treasurer.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President, made the following committee and position appointments:

Teri Hanson as WASB Annual Meeting Delegate. Alternate – William Tesmer
Cheryl Ploeckelman as CESA #10 Annual Meeting Delegate. Alternate – Eric Elmhorst
Todd Schmidt as Representative to the Colby IDEA Foundation, Inc.
Todd Schmidt as Representative to the District Technology Committee
Cheryl Ploeckelman as Representative to the ESSA Plan Committee
Jennifer Lopez, Board Treasurer, as Pension Plan Trustee
Kristen Seifert as Recording Secretary for Board of Education Meetings

Motion by Mrs. Lopez, seconded by Mrs. Schmitt, to designate the Nicolet Bank, Advantage Community Bank and Forward Financial Bank as depositories for school district funds. Voice vote - motion carried.

Motion by Mrs. Lopez, seconded by Mrs. Ploeckelman, to designate Ruder Ware as the Legal Counsel to the District. Voice vote – motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Elmhorst, seconded by Mrs. Schmitt to approve Johnson Block & Company for audit services. Voice vote – motion carried.

Motion by Mrs. Ploeckelman, seconded by Mrs. Schmitt, to designate the Tribune Phonograph as the official paper of publication for school district business. Voice vote – motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Elmhorst, seconded by Mrs. Ploeckelman to approve the use of signature stamp/facsimile signatures for Board of Education officers. Voice vote – motion carried.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President, appointed the following members to Board of Education Standing Committees:

Policy & Curriculum Committee – Cheryl Ploeckelman, Chair, Eric Elmhorst, Teri Hanson Facilities & Transportation Committee – Todd Schmidt, Chair, Jean Schmitt, Bill Tesmer Personnel Committee – Jennifer Lopez, Chair, Todd Schmidt, Jean Schmitt Financial Affairs Committee – Jennifer Lopez, Chair, Eric Elmhorst, Teri Hanson

Motion by Mrs. Ploeckelman, seconded by Mrs. Schmitt, to approve the 2019-20 Board Meeting schedule for regular school board meetings as the third Monday of the month, with the exception of April and October, being the fourth Monday of the month. Voice vote - motion carried.

Motion by Mrs. Ploeckelman, seconded by Mr. Elmhorst, to adjourn the meeting. Voice votemotion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:24 PM

Respectfully Submitted:

Kristen Seifert, Recording Secretary